top of page

Made it to Cambodia!

After a couple weeks in Shanghai, I'm happy to report that I've made it to the second leg of my summer abroad: Phnom Penh, Cambodia! With flight delays, ticket changes, bad-mannered seatmates, and lost luggage, arriving with my sanity intact was quite a challenge. I just got in touch with the airport and thankfully my bag has been found, so all is well that ends well. Heat, dust, and questionable smells aside, I'm really enjoying Cambodia so far. Phnom Penh gets a bad rap, and while I can understand why, it also seems to have plenty of worthwhile qualities. The people probably top this list - just the friendliest, helpful and most welcoming of maybe any country I've been to. I don't think I've seen one frown since my arrival. For my first day of exploration, I took a tuk tuk (pictured above) to The Russian and Central markets. The latter was bustling with locals and had more actiity than the former, so I enjoyed myself a bit more. There I encountered octopuses, skinned chickens, crabs, shrimp, vegetables, fruits, and even grilled insect stands. I wasn't feeling particularly adventurous, so I stuck to noodles and a fried egg for lunch, but who knows, maybe by summer's end I'll be ready to delight my taste buds with a cricket or two :) The last few pictures are the few I snapped from the Russian Market!

Preparing my fried noodles.
bottom of page